Skip to content (Press enter)

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation have confirmed new appointments and reappointments to the IFRS Advisory Council (Advisory Council). All of the appointments are for three years starting on 1 January 2024.

The Advisory Council provides strategic advice to the IFRS Foundation Trustees, the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) and the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB).

Chaired by Bill Coen, the Advisory Council comprises representatives from more than 50 organisations with interests in international corporate reporting and diverse functional and geographical backgrounds.

These appointments bring a broad range of accounting and sustainability experience that will benefit the Advisory Council and IFRS Foundation stakeholders.

Newly appointed organisations and their representatives

Organisation Name Title
Pan African Federation of Accountants (PAFA) Alta Prinsloo CEO
SK hynix Bangsil Lee Vice President, Head of ESG Strategy

Reappointed organisations with new representatives

Organisation Name Title
Investment Company Institute Glen Yelton Global Head of ESG, Invesco
Ministry of Finance, China Huihao Shu Director-General, Accounting Regulatory Department

Newly appointed representatives of previously appointed organisations

Organisation Name Title
Business Europe Claes Norberg Director of Accountancy, Confederation of Swedish Enterprise; Chair of Business Europe Accounting Sounding Board
Capital Markets Board of Türkiye Demet Akmaz Tercan Senior Expert, Accounting Standards Department
EFFAS Jesús López Zaballos  Chair
International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN) Jenn-Hui Tan Board Governor of ICGN; and Chief Sustainability Officer, Fidelity International
PwC Gary Berchowitz Partner, Global Corporate Reporting

Reappointment of organisations and representatives

Organisation Name Title
EFRAG Saskia Slomp CEO

European Accounting Association (EAA)

Thorsten Sellhorn Professor of Accounting, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich, Germany; former President and Board member of the EAA 
Individual Eduardo Flores Assistant Professor, Accounting and Actuarial Science, University of São Paulo; Technical Coordinator, Brazilian Sustainability Pronouncements Committee (CBPS)
Individual Tania Wimberley Head Financial Reporting Issuer Regulation, Johannesburg Stock Exchange
International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) Marie Seiller Member of IOSCO Committee on Issuer Accounting, Audit and Disclosures; Chief Accountant at the French Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF)
World Bank

Barbara McGowan

Head of Accounting Policy

Members stepping down at the end of their term

The IFRS Foundation Trustees would like to thank these representatives for their contributions and dedication during their time on the IFRS Advisory Council:

  • Ian Burger—International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN)
  • Henry Daubeney—PwC
  • Ron Edmonds—Financial Executives International (FEI)
  • Javier du Frutos—EFFAS
  • Kristian Koktvegaard—Business Europe
  • Alan Trotter—Investment Company Institute
  • Sibel Ulusoy Tokgoz—Capital Markets Board of Türkiye
  • Ken Warren—External Reporting Board (XRB)
  • Li Xianzhong—Ministry of Finance, China

Followable tags

IFRS Foundation strategy and governance