Skip to content (Press enter)

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation appointed eight new members to the SME Implementation Group (SMEIG) following the March 2023 invitation for nominations and applications for SMEIG membership. These new members will start their three-year terms on 1 July 2023, replacing seven members who will step down on 30 June 2023.

The new members are:

  • Wilfred Au (Canada)
  • Noluthando Bobani (South Africa) 
  • Elaine Conway (UK)
  • Fridrich Housa (Australia)
  • Pramod Jain (India)
  • Eng Kian Lee (Singapore)
  • Ernest Muguku Muriu (Kenya)
  • Eva Sundberg (Sweden)

The SMEIG was established by the Trustees in 2010 as a consultative body to the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). The SMEIG has two main responsibilities: to consider questions on implementation and application of the IFRS for SMEs Accounting Standard and to advise the IASB on updating the Standard during periodic reviews. Membership is personal. SMEIG members voice their own views, not those of any company, organisation or constituency.

The next SMEIG meeting will be on 13 July 2023, during which the SMEIG will discuss feedback on the Exposure Draft Third edition of the IFRS for SMEs Accounting Standard.

Read more information about the SMEIG, including the group’s terms of reference and operating procedures.

Followable tags

IFRS Foundation strategy and governance
The IFRS for SMEs Accounting Standard