Skip to content (Press enter)

The IFRS Foundation Trustees have today announced the appointment of Linda Mezon-Hutter and Robert Uhl to serve as members of the IFRS Foundation’s International Accounting Standards Board. The Trustees have also announced the reappointment of three IASB members to serve a second term.

Ms Mezon-Hutter and Mr Uhl will fill the two Americas positions on the IASB, succeeding Tom Scott and Mary Tokar1. Their appointments are for a five-year term starting in September 2022.

Mezon-Hutter has nearly two decades of experience as an accounting standard-setter, having served as a member, Vice-Chair and ultimately Chair of the Canadian Accounting Standards Board (AcSB). She has also served on the IASB’s Accounting Standards Advisory Forum. Before joining the AcSB, Mezon-Hutter served as the Chief Accountant at Royal Bank of Canada. She was named a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario in 2013, is a Certified Public Accountant (Michigan) and Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA). She holds a BA in accounting from Michigan State University and an MBA from the University of Detroit.

Uhl brings a wealth of experience from practice, having served as a Partner and National Director for Accounting Standards at Deloitte in the United States. He has served as a member of the IFRS Interpretations Committee and the US Financial Accounting Standards Board’s (FASB) Emerging Issues Task Force. In addition to his tenure at Deloitte, Uhl has worked at an investment bank and served as a Professional Accounting Fellow at the Office of the Chief Accountant at the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Uhl holds a degree in accounting from University at Albany.

Nick Anderson, Jianqiao Lu and Ann Tarca have been reappointed to serve a second, three-year term. Anderson and Lu’s second terms start 1 September 2022, whereas Tarca’s second term starts on 1 July 2022.

Erkki Liikanen, Chair of the IFRS Foundation Trustees, said:

Linda and Robert bring a wealth of standard-setting and technical expertise to the IASB, having been closely involved with the work of the IFRS Foundation in their previous roles. I welcome them to the IFRS Foundation and also would like to thank Tom and Mary for their dedication and contributions to the IASB.

Andreas Barckow, Chair of the IASB, said:

I look forward to welcoming Linda and Bob to the IASB. Their vast experience in accounting and standard-setting will be great assets to the IASB.

Linda Mezon-Hutter said:

My experience as a Canadian standard-setter has enabled me to work closely with other national and international standard-setters, and taught me how a strong financial reporting environment operates―experiences that I will bring to my new role at the IASB. I am honoured to join the board and support its next five-year plan.

Robert Uhl said:

I’m excited to take on the role as standard-setter. I have been an auditor, a preparer and a regulator, and hope to bring these experiences to the standard-setting role.

1 Mary Tokar’s second term has been extended from 30 June to 31 August 2022. 

Followable tags

IFRS Foundation strategy and governance