Skip to content (Press enter)

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation have confirmed the appointment and re-appointment of several organisations and representatives to the IFRS Advisory Council. The appointments take effect from 1 January 2022 for a three-year period.

The Advisory Council’s Chair, Bill Coen, has also been re-appointed, effective for three years from 1 February 2022.

Historically, the Advisory Council has advised the IFRS Foundation Trustees and the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB) on strategic matters. When the formation of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) was announced earlier in November, it was also announced that the remit and expertise of the IFRS Advisory Council will be extended to provide strategic advice to the ISSB.

The Advisory Council consists of representatives from over 50 groups affected by and interested in international financial reporting, including academics, analysts, auditors, investors, preparers, professional accounting bodies, regulators and standard-setters. With the exception of individual appointments, the Advisory Council membership is held by the organisation concerned.

New representatives for organisations already on the Advisory Council

Organisation Name Title
EY Michiel van der Lof IFRS Leader for Europe, Middle East, India & Africa (EMEIA)
KPMG Melissa Taylor Partner
Grant Thornton Fergus Condon Global Technology Sector Leader and Partner (Financial Accounting and Advisory Services
International Co-Operative Alliance Emmanuelle Revolon ICA Member; Chief Financial Officer at Confédération Nationale du Crédit Mutuel
International Federation of Accountants Kevin Dancey CEO


The appointments of two further representatives for organisations already on the Advisory Council are still in progress and will be made early in 2022. The first of these will represent the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision. The second will represent the European national standard-setters.

New organisations and representatives on the Advisory Council

Organisation Name Title
Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya Cliff Nyandoro Magara ICPAK Head of Technical Services and Standards


Re-appointment of representatives of organisations already on the Advisory Council

Organisation Name Title
AIA Group Garth Jones Group CFO
BBVA Maria Ángeles Peláez Morón Head of Global Financial Accounting
Council of Institutional Investors James Andrus Investment Manager of Sustianable Investment at California Public Employees' Retirement System
Deloitte Trevor Derwin Partner at Deloitte & Touche Africa
International Monetary Fund Ellen Gaston Senior Financial Sector Expert at Financial Supervision and Regulation Division, Monetary and Capital Markets Department
PJSC LUKOIL Sergey Epifanov Head of the International Financial Reporting Department
(South Asian Federation of Accountants) SAFA M P Vijay Kumar Chairman of Accounting Standards Board at the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India
Securities Analysts Association of Japan George Iguchi Chief Corporate Governance Officer, Executive Director at Nissay Asset Management Corporation


Members stepping down at the end of their terms

The IFRS Foundation Trustees also take this opportunity to thank the following representatives for their contributions as they step down from the IFRS Advisory Council at the end of 2021:

  • Daniel Civit, Grant Thornton
  • Aziz Dieye, Fédération Internationale des Experts-Comptables Francophones
  • Isabelle Ferrand, International Co-Operative Alliance
  • Russell Guthrie, International Federation of Accountants
  • Tessa Kuijl, Ortec Finance
  • Andrew Marshall, KPMG

The Trustees also thank James Luke of EY and Carolyn Rogers of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision, who stepped down earlier this year.

The European Commission, Japan’s Financial Services Agency and the US Securities and Exchange Commission attend the Advisory Council meetings as observers.

Related news