Skip to content (Press enter)

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation, responsible for the oversight and governance of the International Accounting Standards Board (Board), have confirmed the appointment of six new organisations and the reappointment of 12 organisations to the IFRS Advisory Council. All appointments take effect 1 January 2020 and are for a three-year period.

The Council advises the IFRS Foundation Trustees and the Board on strategic and technical matters. It consists of representatives from over 40 groups that are affected by and interested in international financial reporting, including academics, analysts, auditors, investors, preparers, professional accounting bodies, regulators and standard-setters. The Council membership is held by the organisation concerned, and not its individual representative.

Newly appointed organisations to Council

Organisation Representative Title
Bayer Martin Schloemer Vice-President, Head of Closing and External Reporting; former Interpretations Committee member
Eumedion Martijn Bos Policy Advisor on Reporting and Audit at Eumedion; member of ESMA’s Corporate Reporting Standing Committee; Dutch Accounting Standards Board and EFRAG User Panel; former Co-Chair of the Capital Markets Advisory Committee (CMAC); and Founder of Fin-Es Equity Risk Premiums
Japanese Institute of Certified Public Accountants (JICPA) Aiko Sekine Former Chairman and President; currently Advisor to JICPA
Malaysian Accounting Standards Board (MASB) Bee Leng Tan Executive Director
S&P Global Ratings Osman Sattar

Director (Accounting Specialist) of the EMEA Financial Institutions Group at S&P Global Ratings; Co-Chair of CMAC


Xiamen University Feng Liu Professor and Director of Centre for Accounting Studies

New individuals appointed—representing former and existing organisations on Council

Organisation Representative Title
BDO Ehud (Udi) Greenberg Professional Practice Partner at BDO Israel and BDO Global IFRS Advisory Group
Corporate Reporting Users’ Forum Greig Paterson Managing Director of UK Insurance Research at Keefe, Bruyette & Woods
European Central Bank David Grünberger Head of Prudential Policy and Accounting
Insurance Europe (European Insurance and Reinsurance Federation) Anna Vidal Tuneu Director of Group Accounting Policies and Regulation at CaixaBank Group; Vice-Chair of the Financial Reporting Working Group (FRWG) at Insurance Europe
International Actuarial Association Andrew Chamberlain Chair of Actuarial Standards Committee
International Association for Accounting Education and Research (IAAER) Leslie Hodder Professor of Accounting at Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business
International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS)

Romain Paserot


Deputy Secretary General
European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA, reappointed) Isabelle Grauer-Gaynor Corporate Finance and Reporting Team Leader
Investment Association (reappointed) Emma Millar Director of EMEA Accounting Policy at BlackRock

Earlier this year, Carolyn Rogers succeeded William Coen as Secretary General of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and has represented the organisation on the Advisory Council since August.

Re-appointment of existing members on Council

Organisation Representative Title
Acteo and Medef Olivia Larmaraud Vice President, Head of Corporate Accounting at PSA Group
CFA Institute Giuseppe Ballocchi Member of CFA Institute’s Future of Finance Content Council, Partner at Alpha Governance Partners
EY James Luke Africa Technical Partner

Members stepping down at the end of their terms

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the following representatives for their contributions as they step down from the Council at the end of 2019:

  • Jens Freiberg, BDO
  • Laura Ramírez, Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores (CNBV)
  • Lothar Weniger, Corporate Reporting Users’ Forum (CRUF)
  • Jurgen Kirchhof, European Central Bank (ECB)
  • Surya Subramanian, Individual
  • Etty Wulandari, Indonesian Financial Services Authority
  • Olav Jones, Insurance Europe (European Insurance and Reinsurance Federation)
  • Micheline Dionne, International Actuarial Association
  • Holger Daske, International Association for Accounting Education and Research (IAAER)
  • Abdulrahman Fahd Almosad, International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS)
  • Jee In Jang, Korea Accounting Standards Board
  • Hidetake Ishihara, Nippon Keidanren
  • Xinyuan Chen, Shanghai University of Finance and Economics
  • Suresh Senapaty, Wipro Ltd

Joanna Perry will complete her term as the Advisory Council Chair at the end of this year. An announcement regarding the appointment of a new Chair will be made in due course.

The European Commission, Japan’s Financial Services Agency and the US Securities and Exchange Commission attend the Council meetings as observers.