Skip to content (Press enter)

The Trustees of the IFRS® Foundation, responsible for the oversight and governance of the International Accounting Standards Board (Board), have confirmed the appointments of several organisations and their representatives to the IFRS Advisory Council.

The Council is the formal advisory body to the Board and the Trustees. It is made up of more than 45 representatives from different organisations around the world. Its role is to advise the Trustees and the Board on strategic and technical matters.

The appointments are a mixture of representatives from new organisations, new representatives from existing organisations and reappointments of representatives that have already served one term on the Council. In making the appointments, the Trustees took into account the importance of the Council being a diverse group of people that can provide fresh perspectives.

Sheila Fraser, vice-chair of the Trustees and chair of the nominating committee, said:

I welcome the new organisations and representatives to the Council and thank those who are serving a second term for their ongoing commitment to the organisation. I would also like to thank those stepping down for their valuable contributions.

The new and reappointed representatives are:



Brazilian Development Bank (BNDES)

Vania Borgerth

Business Europe

Kristian Koktvedgaard

Capital Markets Board of Turkey (CMB)

Sibel Ulusoy Tokgöz

Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores (CNBV)

Laura Ramírez

European Accounting Association (EAA)

Professor Ann Jorissen

European Federation of Financial Analysts Societies (EFFAS)

Javier de Frutos

European Financial Reporting Advisory Group (EFRAG)

Jean-Paul Gauzès

External Reporting Board (XRB), New Zealand

Ken Warren

Financial Executives International (FEI)

Ron Edmonds

Financial Reporting Standards Council of South Africa

Garth Coppin

International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN)

Ian Burger

International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)

Ton Meershoek

International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)

Areewan Aimdilokwong

Investment Company Institute (ICI)

Clive Brown


Henry Daubeney

World Bank

Pam O'Connell

All appointments are for a three-year term, effective 1 January 2018.

The following representatives are stepping down from the Council at the end of 2017:

  • Rudolf A Bless, FEI
  • Prasan Chuaphanich, Federation of Accounting Professions, Thailand
  • Paul Fitzsimon, PwC
  • Robert Koethner, European Round Table of Industrialists/EuropeanIssuers
  • Anne Molyneux, ICGN
  • Gregory M Smith, ICI
  • Uğur Yaylaönü, CMB.