Skip to content (Press enter)

IFRS 8 Operating Segments

Standard 2024 Issued
Show Sections


IFRS 8 requires an entity whose debt or equity securities are publicly traded to disclose information to enable users of its financial statements to evaluate the nature and financial effects of the different business activities in which it engages and the different economic environments in which it operates.
It specifies how an entity should report information about its operating segments in annual financial statements and in interim financial reports. It also sets out requirements for related disclosures about products and services, geographical areas and major customers.

Standard history

In April 2001 the International Accounting Standards Board (Board) adopted IAS 14 Segment Reporting, which had originally been issued by the International Accounting Standards Committee in August 1997. IAS 14 Segment Reporting replaced IAS 14 Reporting Financial Information by Segment, issued in August 1981.

In November 2006 the Board issued IFRS 8 Operating Segments to replace IAS 14. IAS 1 Presentation of Financial Statements (as revised in 2007) amended the terminology used throughout the Standards, including IFRS 8.

Other Standards have made minor consequential amendments to IFRS 8. They include IAS 19 Employee Benefits (issued June 2011), Annual Improvements to IFRSs 2010–2012 Cycle (issued December 2013) and Amendments to References to the Conceptual Framework in IFRS Standards (issued March 2018) and Disclosure of Accounting Policies (issued February 2021).