Welcome to the website of the IFRS Foundation and the IASB

Monday 29 August 2016

Banner graphic

Accounting Standards Advisory Forum (ASAF)

Accounting Standards Advisory Forum (ASAF)

ASAF membership

The ASAF comprises twelve non-voting members, represented by twelve individuals, plus the Chair. The IASB Chair or the Vice-Chair acts as the Chair of the ASAF.  In order to ensure a broad geographical representation and balance of the major economic regions in the world, the twelve members are from the following geographical regions:

  • One member from Africa;
  • Three members from the Americas (North and South);
  • Three members from the Asia-Oceania region;
  • Three members from Europe (including non EU); and
  • Two members appointed from any area of the world at large, subject to maintaining overall geographical balance.

The initial members are:


  • South African Financial Reporting Standards Council, supported by the Pan African Federation of Accountants (PAFA)

Asia-Oceania (inc. one 'at large')

  • Accounting Standards Board of Japan
  • Australian Accounting Standards Board
  • Chinese Accounting Standards Committee
  • Asian-Oceanian Standard Setters Group (AOSSG), represented by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants

Europe (inc. one 'at large')

  • Accounting Standards Committee of Germany
  • European Financial Reporting Advisory Group (EFRAG)
  • Spanish Accounting and Auditing Institute
  • United Kingdom Financial Reporting Council

The Americas

  • Group of Latin American Standard Setters (GLASS)
  • Canadian Accounting Standards Board
  • United States Financial Accounting Standards Board

The Trustees will review the ASAF and its membership after two years.