Global Standards for the world economy

Friday 30 September 2016

Banner graphic

Press Releases


Trustees announce revised membership of IFRS Advisory Council

 10 January 2012


The Trustees of the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) Foundation, responsible for the governance and oversight of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), have announced today the appointments and reappointments to the IFRS Advisory Council following the expiration of membership periods at the end of 2011.

The Advisory Council is the formal advisory body to the Trustees and the IASB. In 2009, the Trustees revised the membership structure of the Advisory Council so that members now serve primarily as representatives of organisations. The terms of the new appointments and reappointments published today begun on 1 January 2012 and range between one and three years to enhance continuity and achieve an orderly rotation in membership.

Paul Cherry, Chairman of the Advisory Council, has been reappointed for a further two years. Patrice Marteau and Charles Macek, Vice-Chairmen of the Advisory Council, have been reappointed for one and three years respectively.

Commenting on the announcement, Paul Cherry, Chairman of the IFRS Advisory Council said;

The Advisory Council provides an important sounding board for the Trustees and members of the IASB. I am grateful to the previous members for their contribution to our work and thank the incoming members for agreeing to participate in the important work of the Council.

A list of the appointments and reappointments is available by  clicking here.


Press enquiries

  • Mark Byatt, Director of Communications and External Affairs, IFRS Foundation
    Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6472
  • Sonja Lardeau, Communications Manager, IFRS Foundation
    Telephone: +44 (0)20 7246 6463





Related information 

  • Click here for a print friendly PDF of the press release
  • Click here for more information about the Advisory Council
  • Click here for more information about the IFRS Foundation Trustees