Welcome to the website of the IFRS Foundation and the IASB

Sunday 29 May 2016

Banner graphic

Trustees of the IFRS Foundation

Trustees of the IFRS Foundation

The Trustees of the IFRS Foundation are responsible for the governance and oversight of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB).

The Trustees are not involved in any technical matters relating to the Standards. This responsibility rests solely with the IASB.

The Trustees are accountable to the Monitoring Board, a body of publically accountable markets authorities.

Trustees are appointed for a renewable term of three years. Each Trustee is expected to have an understanding of, and be sensitive to, international issues relevant to the success of an international organisation responsible for the development of high quality global accounting standards for use in the world's capital markets and by other users.

Six of the Trustees must be selected from the Asia/Oceania region, six from Europe, six from North America, one from Africa, one from South America and two from the rest of the world (see Trustee Distribution).

Michel Prada was appointed Chairman of the IFRS Foundation Trustees, effective 1 January 2012.


Michel Prada, Chairman of the IFRS Foundation Trustees

Michel Prada, Chairman of the Trustees
Former Chairman of the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF); former Chairman of the Executive and Technical Committees of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)

Term expires: December 2017

Ronald Arculli, IFRS Foundation Trustee Vice-Chair

Ronald Arculli, Vice-Chair

Former Chairman of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (operators of the Hong Kong Stock Exchange); former Chairman of the World Federation of Exchanges, the international association of stock exchanges
(Hong Kong)

Term expires: December 2017

Sheila Fraser, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Sheila Fraser, Vice-Chair

Former member of the International Public Sector Accounting Standards Board (IPSASB); former Auditor General of Canada; former Chair of the Canadian Public Sector Accounting Board

Term expires: December 2018

Guillermo Babatz, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Guillermo Babatz

Managing Partner at Atik Capital, S.C.; former Executive Chairman of Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores (CNBV); former Chief Executive Officer of Sociedad Hipotecaria Federal (SHF)

Term expires: April 2019

Alan Beller, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Alan Beller

Partner at Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP; member of the Board of Directors of The Travelers Companies; former Director of the Division of Corporation Finance of the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and Senior Counsellor to the SEC
(United States)

Term expires: December 2017

Chandrashekhar Bhaskar Bhave (C. B. Bhave), IFRS Foundation Trustee

Chandrashekhar Bhaskar Bhave (C. B. Bhave)

Former Chairman of the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)

Term expires: December 2017

Werner Brandt, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Werner Brandt

Chairman of the Board of the German Financial Reporting Enforcement Panel (FREP); member of the Supervisory Board of several prominent German companies; former member of the Board of the Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (DRSC)

Term expires: December 2017

Duck-Koo Chung, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Duck-Koo Chung

Former Minister of Commerce, Industry and Energy for the Republic of Korea (Republic of Korea)

Term expires: December 2016

Jin Liqun, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Jin Liqun

President of the Asian Infrastructure and Investment Bank; member of the foreign policy advisory committee of the Chinese Foreign Ministry; Honorary Chairman of the International Forum of Sovereign Wealth Funds; former Chairman of China International Capital Corporation Limited; former Chairman of the Supervisory Board of China Investment Corporation & Central Huijing Investment Corporation; former Vice-President of the Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Term expires: December 2016

Dr Abdulrahman Al-Humaid, IFRS Foundation Trustee,

Dr Abdulrahman Al-Humaid

Chairman of the Board of Directors (Bank Albilad), Chairman of the Committee for Adopting International Accounting Standards of the Saudi Organization of Certified Public Accountants (SOCPA); former Chairman of the Saudi Accounting Standards Committee; member of the Board of various companies listed on the Saudi exchange
(Saudi Arabia)

Term expires: December 2018

Sir Callum McCarthy, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Sir Callum McCarthy

Non-executive director of Industrial and Commercial Bank of China and IntercontinentalExchange; former Chairman of the Financial Services Authority (FSA)
(United Kingdom)

Term expires: December 2017

Wiseman Nkuhlu, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Wiseman Nkuhlu

Former Economic Adviser to former South African President Thabo Mbeki; the first Chairman of the Steering Committee and Chief Executive of the Secretariat of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD); former President of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants; former Chairman of the South African Council of Higher Education; former President of the International Organization of Employers; Chancellor of the University of Pretoria
(South Africa)

Term expires: December 2018

Joji Okada, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Joji Okada 

Corporate Auditor of Mitsui & Company Limited

Term expires: December 2018

Marco Onado, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Marco Onado

Senior Professor of Financial Institutions at the Bocconi University, Milan, Italy; Chairman of Pioneer Global Asset Management

Term expires: December 2017

James (Jim) Quigley, IFRS Foundation Trustee

James (Jim) Quigley

CEO Emeritus, former Senior Partner, Deloitte U.S; former CEO of Deloitte, Touche & Tohmatsu Limited (DTTL)
(United States)

Term expires: December 2017

Maria Helena Santana, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Maria Helena Santana

Former Chair and President of the Comissao de Valores Mobiliarios (CVM), the Brazilian Securities and Exchange Commission; former Executive Officer of the Brazilian stock exchange (BOVESPA); also served as Chair of IOSCO’s Executive Committee and a member of the International Integrated Reporting Council; currently on the boards of a number of Brazilian public companies as an independent director

Term expires: December 2019

Takafumi Sato, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Takafumi Sato
President of Japan Exchange Regulation; former Commissioner of the Financial Services Agency from 2007 to 2009; former member of the IFRS Foundation Monitoring Board

Term expires: December 2017

Kurt Schacht, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Kurt Schacht
Managing Director, CFA Institute Standards and Advocacy Division;
Chairman, US Securities and Exchange Commission’s Investor Advisory Committee  
(United States)

Term expires: December 2017

Dick Sluimers, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Dick Sluimers

Former Chief Executive Officer of APG Group; former Chair and CEO of the pension fund ABP; former Director-General of the National Budget within the Dutch Finance Ministry

Term expires: December 2016

Lynn Wood, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Lynn Wood

Former Chairman of the  Financial Reporting Council (Australia) and former board member of the External Reporting Board (NZ), the Foreign Investment Review Board (Australia), Schroders Australia, HSBC Bank Australia, MS Australia and the Committee for Economic Development of Australia. Currently a board member of Save the Children Australia.

Term expires: December 2019

Antonio Zoido, IFRS Foundation Trustee

Antonio Zoido

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Bolsas y Mercados Españoles (BME)

Term expires: December 2016



Related information



Jenny Cale
Executive Assistant
Email: jcale@ifrs.org