Welcome to the website of the IFRS Foundation and the IASB

Friday 22 May 2015

Banner graphic

Consultative groups

 Shariah-Compliant Instruments and Transactions

On 2 July 2013 an inaugural meeting was held to discuss Sharia-compliant instruments and transactions. The meeting was chaired by the IASB. 

The members and official observers at the meeting are listed below.


Mr. Ian Mackintosh Chair IASB
Mr. Wayne Upton Participant IASB
Mr. Mohammad Faiz Azmi Participant MASB
Mr. Matt Gamble Participant DFSA
Mr. Jaseem Ahmad Participant IFSB
Mr. Abdelilah Belatik Participant IFSB
Mr. Jusuf Wibisana Participant IAI
Mr. Rashid Rahman Mir Participant ICAP
Dr. Mohammed F. Bahjatt Participant SOCPA
Dr. Abdurrahman Al-Razeen Participant SOCPA


Mr. Ng Kean Kok ACCA
Mr. Wan Mohd Nazri Wan Osman Bank Negara Malaysia
Ms. Nurmastuji Ab Malek Bank Negara Malaysia
Ms. Shahira Zaireen Johan Arief Jothi Bank Negara Malaysia
Dr. Nordin Mohd Zain Deloitte
Dr. Marjan Muhammad ISRA
Ms. Nurazalia Zakaria ISRA
Ms. Siti Norhayati Bt Mohd Ali Accountant-General’s Department
Mr. Ahmad Nasri Abdul Wahab KPMG
Mr. Muhammad Syarizal Rahim EY
Dr. Nurmazilah Dato’ Mahzan Malaysian Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Mr. Manjit Singh PwC
Ms. Veena R. Sankaranarayan Securities Commission Malaysia
Mr. Nor Zahrul Zainal Audit Oversight Board, Malaysia


In attendance  
Ms. Mas Sukmawati Abu Bakar MASB
Ms. Tan Bee Leng MASB
Ms. Christine Lau MASB
Ms. Nor Amirah Nordin MASB
Ms. Aidura Jamaludin MASB
Ms. Norsuriani Noridil MASB


This group is at a formative stage. What the group might cover and it's proposed membership are still under discussion.



Related information




Wayne Upton
Director of international activities
email: wupton@ifrs.org