For immediate release 24 May 2000

SHAPING IASC FOR THE FUTURE: IASC MEMBERS APPROVE RESTRUCTURING

Today, at an Assembly held in Edinburgh, IASC's members voted to approve a new IASC Constitution, giving effect to a major restructuring. The vote was unanimous. The decision by the members, the professional accountancy bodies in over 100 countries, marks the final stage in approval of the new Constitution. In March 2000, the IASC Board approved the new Constitution which implements recommendations of IASC's Strategy Working Party made in the report, *Recommendations on Shaping IASC for the Future*. Earlier this week, the IASC Nominating Committee announced selection of the initial group of Trustees of the restructured IASC.

Stig Enevoldsen, Chairman of IASC, said: "By approving the new constitution, the IASC members have shown their wisdom and devotion to the public interest. This was a vital decision for the future of IASC and I am proud that it has been taken while I am Chairman."

Sir Bryan Carsberg, Secretary-General of IASC, said: "The Trustees selected by our Nominating Committee take office immediately and will get to work on fundraising and selection of the new standard setting Board. The new Board will commence operations on a date determined by the Trustees, with 1 January 2001 the target, and the present Board will continue up to that time."

ENDS.

Press Enquiries:

Stig Enevoldsen, Chairman of IASC, Telephone: +45 33 76 33 33, E-mail: stig.enevoldsen@deloitte.dk

Sir Bryan Carsberg, Secretary-General, IASC, Telephone: +44 (020) 7353-0565, E-mail: iasc@iasc.org.uk

Kurt Ramin, Commercial Director, IASC, Telephone: +44 (020) 7427-5921, E-mail: kramin@iasc.org.uk

Note for Editors:

Mr. William C. Steere, Jr.

The Report, *Recommendations on Shaping IASC for the Future*, was published by IASC's Strategy Working Party in November 1999. The Report sets out the Strategy Working Party's recommendations for changing IASC's structure and includes recommendations relating to the objectives and strategy of IASC, IASC's due process, implementation and enforcement of IASC standards, and funding.

Under the new structure, IASC will be established as an independent organisation such as a foundation. The organisation will have two main bodies, the Trustees and the Board, as well as a Standing Interpretations Committee and Standards Advisory Council. The Trustees will appoint the Board Members, exercise oversight and raise the funds needed, whereas the Board will have sole responsibility for setting accounting standards.

Earlier this week, the IASC Nominating Committee established for the purpose of selecting the initial Trustees of the restructured IASC announced selection of the following individuals:

Trustee Affiliation

Mr. Paul A. Volcker, Chairman Former Chairman, U.S. Federal Reserve Board Deputy Chairman and CEO, The Liberty Life Group Mr. Roy Andersen Mr. John H. Biggs Chairman, TIAA-CREF Mr. Andrew Crockett General Manager, Bank for International Settlements Mr. Roberto Teixeira Da Costa Former Chairman, Brazilian Comissao de Valores **Mobiliarios** Mr. Guido A. Ferrarini Professor of Law, University of Genoa Mr. L. Yves Fortier Chairman, Ogilvy Renault, Barristers and Solicitors Former Ambassador of Canada to the United Nations Chief Financial Officer, Mitsui & Co., Ltd. Mr. Toshikatsu Fukuma Mr. Cornelius Herkstroter Former President, Royal Dutch Petroleum Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Deutsche Bank Mr. Hilmar Kopper Mr. Philip A. Laskawy Chairman, Ernst & Young International Mr. Charles Yeh Kwong Lee Chairman, Hong Kong Exchange and Clearing Ltd. Sir Sydney Lipworth Chairman, U.K. Financial Reporting Council Mr. Didier Pineau-Valencienne Chairman, Association Française des Enterprises Privees Senior Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers Mr. Jens Roder Former Chairman, U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission Mr. David S. Ruder Former Chairman, Australian Accounting Standards Board, Mr. Kenneth H. Spencer Director of a number of publicly listed companies

Chairman and CEO, Pfizer Inc.